How to watch the Indianapolis 500 - Fix Bdsthanhhoavn

How to watch the Indianapolis 500

The “greatest spectacle in racing” returns for its 106th running with the Indianapolis 500 set for Sunday. Six-time series champion and 2008 race winner Scott Dixon won the pole for this edition with a track record four-lap average speed of 234.046 mph.

Pre-race show: 11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET

Race coverage: 12:30 – 4 p.m. ET (Green flag at 12:45 p.m. ET)

There are eight past winners in the field including Dixon, his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Tony Kanaan, defending champion and four-time winner Hélio Castroneves, two-time winners Takuma Sato and Juan Pablo Montoya, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud and Alexander Rossi.

Longtime Formula 1 driver Romain Grosjean and seven-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson make their Indianapolis 500 debuts, starting 10th and 12th, respectively.

Power and teammates Josef Newgarden and Scott McLaughlin will be looking to add to owner Roger Penske’s impressive trophy case and capture a 19th Borg-Warner Trophy. There would be even more special meaning for Penske as it would mark his first win since he purchased Indianapolis Motor Speedway in early 2020 and this year’s race will be the first since the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak to be contested in front of a full house of 240,000 fans.

Dixon (+500) has the best odds at BetMGM to claim his second win, followed by defending series champion and Ganassi teammate Alex Palou (+700), Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward (+800), Newgarden (+1000) and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay (+1000).

Being the longest continually running auto race in the United States (beginning in 1911), there are plenty of traditions that have built up over the years. Most notably they are:

Warm and partly cloudy. The projected high is 81 degrees with a 0% chance of rain which should make for some interesting pit strategy as higher temperatures mean more tire wear.

  • Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda, 234.046 mph four-lap average

  • Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda, 233.499

  • Rinus VeeKay, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet, 233.385

  • Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet, 233.08

  • Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda, 232.764

  • Tony Kanaan, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda, 232.372

  • Pato O’Ward, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet, 232.705

  • Felix Rosenqvist, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet, 232.182

  • Romain Grosjean, Andretti Autosport, Honda, 231.999

  • Takuma Sato, Dale Coyne Racing, Honda, 231.67

  • Will Power, Team Penske, Chevrolet, 231.534

  • Jimmie Johnson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda, 231.264

  • David Malukas, Dale Coyne Racing, Honda, 231.607

  • Josef Newgarden, Team Penske, Chevrolet, 231.58

  • Santino Ferrucci, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, Chevrolet, 231.508

  • Simon Pagenaud, Meyer Shank Racing, Honda, 231.275

  • J.R. Hildebrand, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet, 231.112

  • Conor Daly, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet, 230.999

  • Callum Ilott, Juncos Hollinger Racing, Chevrolet, 230.961

  • Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport, Honda, 230.812

  • Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda, 230.766

  • Sage Karam, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, Chevrolet, 230.464

  • Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport, 230.345

  • Devlin DeFrancesco, Andretti Autosport, Honda, 230.326

  • Colton Herta, Andretti Autosport, Honda, 230.235

  • Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske, Chevrolet, 230.154

  • Helio Castroneves, Meyer Shank Racing, Honda, 229.63

  • Kyle Kirkwood, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet, 229.406

  • Dalton Kellett, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet, 228.916

  • Juan Pablo Montoya, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet, 228.622

  • Christian Lundgaard, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda, 227.053

  • Jack Harvey, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda, 226.851

  • Stefan Wilson, DragonSpeed/Cusick Motorsports, Chevrolet, no laps

  • Tags: #watch #Indianapolis

    Leave a Comment